Province of Aurora

Notwithstanding its primarily non-territorial nature,  the Empire of Atlantium has aspired - virtually from the day of its Foundation - to exercise its Sovereign Authority over a modest rural geographical territory to serve as its permanent global administrative capital, ceremonial focal point and spiritual homeland.

That long-held aspiration was realised on 12 Primus 10527 (12 January 2008) with the formal gazettal of the Imperial Decree by which the Province of Aurora was established.

The Province of Aurora (yellow outline) is located over three hundred kilometres southwest of Sydney on the western side of the Great Dividing Range. It is enclaved within the Australian state of New South Wales.

Location, Geography and Climate

The Province of Aurora is located in the valley of the Lachlan River, approximately 310 kilometres southwest of Sydney, in the scenic, pastoral southwest slopes region of the Australian state of New South Wales. 

View along the Via Concordia towards the southwestern extremity of the District of Duggan. De Hollanda Dam is at right.

The Province is 0.76 square kilometres (0.3 square miles) in extent - nearly twice the size of the Vatican City State, and about half the size of Monaco. The fenced border with Australia is 4.5 kilometres (2.8 miles) long. Aurora largely consists of hilly, fallow grazing country with extensive native eucalypt and conifer sclerophyl woodlands and native grasslands. It enjoys an agreeable year-round mid-latitude climate.

Flora and Fauna

A group of Eastern Grey Kangaroos basking in the early morning sunlight near De Hollanda Dam.

Resident native fauna is abundant, and includes peregrine falcons, crimson rosellas, cockatoos, kookaburras, magpies, goannas, wallabies, wallaroos, eastern grey kangaroos, dingos, possums, echidnas and numerous other mammal, marsupial, bird, amphibian and reptile species. The Empire’s historic totemic animal - the world’s largest bird of prey - the wedge-tailed eagle (Aquila Audax) - is also native to the Province, and can be seen soaring on the thermal currents high above Aurora on a daily basis. 

Resident introduced feral faunae include rabbits, foxes, cats and red deer. The systematic, permanent eradication of these species from Aurora is planned.

Administrative Divisions

The Province consists of three administrative divisions. The District of Hickey is the largest of these, encompassing approximately half the Province's total area. The District of Duggan occupies approximately a third of the Province and is located along its southern extremity. These Districts are gazetted as Perpetual Nature Conservancies. Concordia Capital District is situated between the two, and constitutes the only part of the Province in which permanent human occupancy and development is permitted.

Flagstaff Hill, near the eastern border of Hickey, is the highest elevation in Aurora.

The Province also previously encompassed a 61 square metre exclave located in the Sydney suburb of Potts Point. Known initially as the Imperium Proper Territory, and later as the Prefecture of Idalia, the territory was sold in January 2010 in order to fund the development of Aurora proper.

Imperial Capital

Concordia is the third capital of Atlantium, a function it assumed from the former Imperium Proper Territory on 12 Primus 10527, upon the creation of Aurora. 

Dawn silhouette, Founders Square, central Concordia.

As the Empire’s permanent capital, Concordia is progressively being developed as a modest administrative and residential settlement along environmentally-sustainable lines. Construction of facilities to house the Imperial Senate, Government offices, Museum and Imperial Throne Hall is currently in planning. Short-stay visitor accommodation and conference and recreational facilities are also envisaged. Development is estimated to occur in stages over a two to three decade period.

Presently Concordia is the site of a single-storey residential and administrative building - known officially as the Domus Aurea (Golden House), the Foundation Monument, the partly-completed Temple of Contemplation, several service structures and a building which will serve as both General Post Office and Imperial Library (the Bibliotecha Alexandrina Nova) when inaugurated in late 10530 (2011).

Economic Activity and Future Development 

Historic economic activity in and around Aurora has included forestry and gold mining and processing operations, in addition to cropping and sheep and cattle grazing. Archaeological remains of a 104th century (19th century) gold processing facility at Battery Flat, in northwestern Hickey, constitutes the oldest extant evidence of human occupation in the province, and are to be formally conserved as an heritage site.

Present-day economic activity within Aurora's borders is limited to seasonal sheep and cattle agistment. Future eco-tourism and other environmentally-sensitive recreational development of the Province is envisaged - including the establishment of a large artificial lake and wetland zone to be created with the major expansion of an existing dam in northwestern Hickey. 

Renewable energy sources, and natural water processing and recycling systems will be installed to ensure the Province enjoys the highest levels of practical autonomy from external suppliers, and in order to minimize its carbon footprint.  

An independent monthly postal service will operate between Concordia and the Empire's representative office in Marrickville, Sydney, commencing in early 10531 (2012).

Google Maps

View Larger Map

Visiting Aurora

Fully-guided day-tours of Aurora ex-Sydney are available by prior arrangement with the Office of the Emperor

Requests for commercial overnight or short-stay visits will be considered on a case-by-case basis. 

Recent Developments

To stay up-to-date with goings on at Aurora, please visit the Empire of Atlantium's official Facebook Group, where you can delve into an extensive photographic record of significant developments. 


For further information about the Empire of Atlantium, contact us by email.